Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

College of Arts and Sciences Honors Outstanding Faculty

The College of Arts and Sciences celebrated outstanding faculty with awards in advising, teaching, research, outreach, and service during its annual Winter Convocation on Wednesday. “Faculty members are the engine that drives the success of the college and its programs,” said Theresa Lee, dean. “Once a year, we gather to thank our faculty, to celebrate their contributions and accomplishments, and to publicly recognize a few individuals who represent the collective excellence of our entire faculty.” Carol Harden was named the 2015 College Marshal, the highest college honor bestowed upon a faculty member. Harden is professor and former department head of geography. She has distinguished herself as an influential researcher and internationally recognized disciplinary leader since joining UT in 1987. As College Marshal, Harden will represent the college in the spring and fall commencements. John Zomchick, professor of English and Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs, received the Lorayne W. Lester Award, established to recognize faculty and staff who have demonstrated outstanding service to the college and its various constituencies. Soren Sorensen, professor and former department head of physics and astronomy, received the Diversity Leadership Award for his steadfast commitment to supporting the college’s and university’s commitment to diversity.

Here’s a list of the other honors presented:

  • James R. and Nell W. Cunningham Outstanding Teaching Awards (honor tenured faculty for classroom teaching)
  • Debora Baldwin, associate professor of psychology
  • Luis Cano, associate professor of modern foreign languages and literatures

Excellence in Teaching Awards

  • Harriet Bowden, assistant professor of modern foreign languages and literatures
  • Joseph Miles, assistant professor of psychology
  • David Anderson, professor of mathematics
  • Vejas Liulevicius, professor of history
  • Laura Hoffer, senior lecturer of English
  • Kevin Sukanek, senior lecturer of mathematics

Faculty Advising Awards

  • Bill Hardwig, associate professor of English
  • Remus Nicoara, associate professor of mathematics

Faculty Academic Outreach Award (This award recognizes faculty who have extended their scholarship and creative activity to directly benefit the community beyond the university).

  • Chris Elledge, assistant professor of psychology
  • Gilya Schmidt, professor of Religious Studies
  • Eugene Wofford, research associate professor of ecology and evolutionary biology

Faculty Research and Creative Achievement Award (This award recognizes faculty excellence in research and creative achievement by presenting three levels of awards, at the early-career, mid-career, and senior-career levels, and distinguished research career at UT.) Research and Creative Achievement Awards: Early-Career

  • Micheline van Riemsdijk, assistant professor of geography
  • Vasileios Maroulas, assistant professor of mathematics

Research and Creative Achievement Awards: Mid-Career

  • Emily Bivens, associate professor of art
  • David Jenkins, associate professor of chemistry
  • Greg Reynolds, associate professor of psychology
  • Steven Wise, associate professor in mathematics

     Research and Creative Achievement Awards: Senior-Career

  • Kristina Gordon, professor of psychology
  • Aleydis Van de Moortel, associate professor of classics
  • Thomas Papenbrock, associate professor of mathematics
  • Jay Rubenstein, professor of history
  • Shih-Lung Shaw, professor of geography

Research and Creative Achievement Award: Distinguished Research Career at UT

  • Carol Harden, professor of geography

Interdepartmental Collaboration in Scholarship and Research Award (This award highlights successful teamwork among faculty across disciplines and specialties)

  • Hoan Bui, associate professor of sociology
  • Todd Moore, associate professor of psychology

New Research, Scholarly and Creative Projects in the Arts & Humanities Award (This award provides outstanding faculty in the arts and humanities with financial support for advancing scholarship or creative work. The award is to support a project or projects over a period of time that will lead to significant new external professional recognition for the faculty member.)

  • Shellen Wu, assistant professor of history