Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

About the Divisional Structure Pilot

In September 2022, the UT Chancellor announced a plan for establishing a divisional structure within the College of Arts and Sciences. Under the model, the college will be organized around three broad divisions: Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, and Natural Sciences and Mathematics. Each division will be led by a divisional dean who will report to the executive dean. The divisional structure is a pilot and its effectiveness will be assessed after two years.

RJ Hinde is the interim executive dean working with the provost, college leadership, faculty and staff to create a divisional structure designed to meet the various needs of the college. Along with members of the Divisional Structure Pilot Task Forces, Hinde will develop clear and consistent communication with faculty and staff to collect their input on the pilot.

Task Force Survey

Faculty and staff members who want to provide the task forces with input right away can do so through this Qualtrics survey. Results from this survey are available at this link each week.

The task forces may also develop future, more specific surveys to collect additional input, which will be posted to this website.

Engagement Opportunities

Open Office Hours

Hinde also has open office hours available for college stakeholders to share their thoughts about the divisional pilot structure. For the remainder of the fall 2022 semester, office hours are as follows:

Location: Mary Greer Room, Hodges Library, Room 258

  • Monday, Nov. 21: 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 22: 1 p.m. to 2 p.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 28: 3:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Friday, Dec. 2: 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Location: Student Union, Room 367

  • Monday, Dec. 5: 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.
  • Tuesday, Dec. 6: 1 p.m. to 2 p.m.
  • Monday, Dec. 12: 11 a.m. to noon in the Student Union room 174A
  • Wednesday, Dec. 14: 9 a.m. to 10 a.m.


These resources have been shared with the Divisional Structure Pilot Task Forces:

News Items

Next Steps on Academic Restructuring

RJ Hinde Named Interim Executive Dean