Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Helpful Resources for UT Students Pursuing Admission to a Physician Assistant Program

As a pre-PA student, the application process for medical school will be very competitive. Start off by giving yourself the best academic foundation possible, by proactively taking advantage of the great resources on campus! 

UT Academic Resources:

The Math Place: https://math.utk.edu/the-math-place/  

The Chemistry Tutorial Center: https://chem.utk.edu/first-year-students-and parents/tutorial-center/  

Chemistry Department Tips for First Year Students:

https://chem.utk.edu/first-year-students-and-parents/
https://chem.utk.edu/first-year-students-and-parents/additional-resources/

Academic Success Center: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/academicsuccess/   

One on One Academic Coaching:  https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/academicsuccess/what-is-academic-coaching/

Vol Study Center: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/academicsuccess/vol-study center/  

UT Libraries:  
https://www.lib.utk.edu/
https://www.lib.utk.edu/info/undergrad/
https://libguides.utk.edu/tutorials?_ga=2.79773279.997214625.1692617617-1719940725.1668526935 

Judith Anderson Herbert Writing Center: https://writingcenter.utk.edu/

Non-UT Academic Resources:  

Study Techniques for Pre Medical Students – Johns Hopkins Pre-Health Advising:  https://studentaffairs.jhu.edu/preprofadvising/wp-content/uploads/sites/33/2016/01/Verrier.Thompson-.pdf

UT Center for Career Development and Academic Exploration (CCDAE):  

CCDAE Industry: Health and Wellness: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/career/industry-health-and-wellness/

CCDAE Health Professions: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/career/career-interest healthcare/

UT Office of Undergraduate Research and Fellowships (URF): 
URF home: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/urf/
URF Getting Started in Research: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/urf/getting-started/
URF Awards and Fellowships Overview:  https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/urf/scholarship-overview/

Key Pre PA Resources for Students  

Exploration and Career Searching via Explore Health Careers: explorehealthcareers.org 

UTK Arts and Sciences Pre Health Advising: https://artsci.utk.edu/future students/pre-health/ 

AAPA:  

The American Academy of PA’s (AAPA): https://www.aapa.org/

Become a PA: https://www.aapa.org/career-central/become-a-pa/

What is a PA: https://www.aapa.org/about/what-is-a-pa/

PAEA:  

The PA Education Association (PAEA): https://paeaonline.org/

General Information on PAs and PA Education: https://paeaonline.org/how-we-can help/advisors

Applying to a PA Program: https://paeaonline.org/how-we-can-help/advisors/applying-to-a-physician-assistant-program

General Info – What is a PA?: https://paeaonline.org/how-we-can help/advisors/what-is-a-pa 

The PA Application Process: https://paeaonline.org/how-we-can help/advisors/caspa-application-checklist

PAEA Program Report with 2018 – 2019 program and matriculant data: https://paeaonline.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/11/program-report35-20201014.pdf

PAEA Research – Student Report 5 Data from 2021 matriculants: https://paeaonline.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/06/FINAL_student-report-5- 20230628.pdf

CASPA:  

CASPA for PA Programs: https://paeaonline.org/resources/member-resources/caspa

CASPA Applicant Guide 2023 – 2024: https://paeaonline.org/wp content/uploads/2023/04/CASPA-Applicant-Guide-23-24_-FINAL-1.pdf

CASPA Applicant Help Center: https://help.liaisonedu.com/CASPA_Applicant_Help_Center

PA-CAT:  

PA-CAT Application Guide: https://www.pa-cat.com/resources/

PA-CAT Study Guide: https://www.pa-cat.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/PA CAT-Study-Guide.pdf

PA-CAT Participating Programs: https://exammaster.aweb.page/pacat participating-programs