Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Helpful Resources for UT Students Pursuing Admission to Medical School

As a pre-med student, the application process for medical school will be very competitive. Start off by giving yourself the best academic foundation possible, by proactively taking advantage of the great resources on campus!

UT Academic Resources:

The Math Place: https://math.utk.edu/the-math-place/

The Chemistry Tutorial Center: https://chem.utk.edu/first-year-students-andparents/tutorial-center/

Chemistry Department Tips for First Year Students:
https://chem.utk.edu/first-year-students-and-parents/
https://chem.utk.edu/first-year-students-and-parents/additional-resources/

Academic Success Center: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/academicsuccess/

One on One Academic Coaching: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/academicsuccess/what-is-academic-coaching/

Vol Study Center: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/academicsuccess/vol-study-center/

UT Libraries:
https://www.lib.utk.edu/
https://www.lib.utk.edu/info/undergrad/
https://libguides.utk.edu/tutorials?_ga=2.79773279.997214625.1692617617-1719940725.1668526935

Judith Anderson Herbert Writing Center: https://writingcenter.utk.edu/

Non-UT Academic Resources:

Study Techniques for Pre Medical Students – Johns Hopkins Pre-Health Advising:
https://studentaffairs.jhu.edu/preprofadvising/wp-content/uploads/sites/33/2016/01/Verrier.Thompson-.pdf

UT Center for Career Development and Academic Exploration (CCDAE):

CCDAE Industry: Health and Wellness: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/career/industry-health-and-wellness/
CCDAE Health Professions: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/career/career-interest-healthcare/

UT Office of Undergraduate Research and Fellowships (URF):

URF home: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/urf/
URF Getting Started in Research: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/urf/getting-started/
URF Awards and Fellowships Overview: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/urf/scholarship-overview/

Key Pre Med Resources for Students

Association of American Medical Colleges: aamc.org
American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine: aacom.org
Exploration and Career Searching via Explore Health Careers: explorehealthcareers.org
UTK Arts and Sciences Pre Health Advising: https://artsci.utk.edu/future-students/pre-health/
Helpful comparison between MD and DO: https://health.clevelandclinic.org/do-vs-md/
AAMC Deciding if Medicine is For You: https://studentsresidents.aamc.org/deciding-if-medicine-you/deciding-if-medicine-you
AAMC Students and Residents: https://students-residents.aamc.org/
AAMC Pre Med Resources: https://students-residents.aamc.org/premed-resources/premed-resources
AAMC Understanding the Process: https://studentsresidents.aamc.org/understanding-process/understanding-process
AAMC Free Medical School Admissions Requirements (MSAR) Reports for
Applicants and Advisors:
https://students-residents.aamc.org/medical-schooladmission-requirements/medical-school-admission-requirements-reports-applicantsand-advisors (Start here for most up to date information)
AAMC PreMedical Coursework Chart
Secondary Application Information
Situational Judgment Test (SJT) and/or Other Assessments
AAMC Preparing for Medical School: https://students-residents.aamc.org/preparingmedical-school/preparing-medical-school
AAMC Applying to Medical Research Programs (PHD or MD/PHD):
https://students-residents.aamc.org/careers-medical-research/applying-medical-research-programs
AAMC Finding Summer Plans and Programs: https://students-residents.aamc.org/applying-medical-school/plan-make-most-your-summer-now
AAMC Exploring Medical Paths: https://students-residents.aamc.org/medical-careers/medical-career-paths
AAMC Subscribe to PreMed Navigator (Newsletter): https://studentsresidents.aamc.org/premed-navigator/subscribe-premed-navigator
AAMC PreMed Calendar: https://students-residents.aamc.org/premed-calendar
AAMC Fee Assistance Program: https://students-residents.aamc.org/fee-assistance-program/fee-assistance-program-fap
AAMC FACTS (Data on Applicants, Matriculants and more):
https://www.aamc.org/data-reports/students-residents/report/facts
AAMC FREE 2022 Official Guide to Medical School Admissions
https://store.aamc.org/2022-official-guide-to-medical-school-admissions-how-toprepare-for-and-apply-to-medical-school.html
AAMC Interview Resources for Medical Applicants: https://studentsresidents.aamc.org/getting-medical-school/interview-resources-medical-school-applicants
AAMC Medical School Applicant Interview Preparation Guide: https://studentsresidents.aamc.org/medical-school-interviews/publication/medical-school-applicant-interview-preparation-guide

Additional helpful AACOM websites:

AACOM Choose Do Explore Medical Schools: https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor
AACOM Osteopathic Medical College Recruiting Events: https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/prepare-for-medical-school/com-recruiting-events
AACOM Prepare for Medical School: https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/prepare-for-medical-school

AMCAS:

Applying to Medical School with AMCAS: https://studentsresidents.aamc.org/applying-medical-school-amcas/applying-medical-school-amcas
AMCAS Tools and Tutorials: https://students-residents.aamc.org/amcas-tools-and-tutorials/amcas-tools-and-tutorials

AACOMAS:

AACOM Apply to Medical School: Learn about the Application Process:
https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/apply-to-medical-school
AACOMAS Application Fee Waiver: https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/apply-to-medical-school/aacomas-application-fee-waiver

MCAT:

AAMC Taking the MCAT Exam: https://students-residents.aamc.org/taking-mcatexam/taking-mcat-exam
AAMC About the MCAT Exam: https://students-residents.aamc.org/about-mcatexam/about-mcat-exam
AAMC Prepare for the MCAT Exam: https://students-residents.aamc.org/preparemcat-exam/prepare-mcat-exam
AAMC What’s on the MCAT Exam? https://students-residents.aamc.org/preparemcat-exam/whats-mcat-exam
AAMC MCAT Free Planning and Study Resources: https://studentsresidents.aamc.org/prepare-mcat-exam/free-planning-and-study-resources
Khan Academy MCAT Prep: https://www.khanacademy.org/test-prep/mcat
AAMC MCAT Official Prep Product Comparison: https://studentsresidents.aamc.org/media/10566/download
AAMC What’s on the MCAT Exam PDF: https://studentsresidents.aamc.org/media/9261/download
AAMC the MCAT Essentials for Testing Year 2023 PDF: https://studentsresidents.aamc.org/media/11711/download