Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Helpful Resources for UT Students Pursuing Admission to Dental School

As a pre-med student, the application process for medical school will be very competitive. Start off by giving yourself the best academic foundation possible, by proactively taking advantage of the great resources on campus!


UT Academic Resources:

The Math Place: https://math.utk.edu/the-math-place/

The Chemistry Tutorial Center: https://chem.utk.edu/first-year-students-and-parents/tutorial-center/

Chemistry Department Tips for First Year Students:
https://chem.utk.edu/first-year-students-and-parents/
https://chem.utk.edu/first-year-students-and-parents/additional-resources/

Academic Success Center: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/academicsuccess/

One on One Academic Coaching:
https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/academicsuccess/what-is-academic-coaching/

Vol Study Center: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/academicsuccess/vol-study-center/

UT Libraries:
https://www.lib.utk.edu/
https://www.lib.utk.edu/info/undergrad/
https://libguides.utk.edu/tutorials?_ga=2.79773279.997214625.1692617617-1719940725.1668526935

Judith Anderson Herbert Writing Center: https://writingcenter.utk.edu/

Non-UT Academic Resources:

Study Techniques for Pre Medical Students – Johns Hopkins Pre-Health Advising: https://studentaffairs.jhu.edu/preprofadvising/wp-content/uploads/sites/33/2016/01/Verrier.Thompson-.pdf

UT Center for Career Development and Academic Exploration (CCDAE):

CCDAE Industry: Health and Wellness: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/career/industry-health-and-wellness/

CCDAE Health Professions: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/career/career-interest-healthcare/

UT Office of Undergraduate Research and Fellowships (URF):

URF home: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/urf/

URF Getting Started in Research: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/urf/getting-started/

URF Awards and Fellowships Overview: https://studentsuccess.utk.edu/urf/scholarship-overview/

Key Pre Dental Resources for Students

Exploration and Career Searching via Explore Health Careers: explorehealthcareers.org

UTK Arts and Sciences Pre Health Advising: https://artsci.utk.edu/future-students/pre-health/

ADEA:
American Dental Education Association (ADEA) – The Voice of Dental Education: https://adea.org/GoDental/
Why Choose Dentistry: https://www.adea.org/GoDental/Health_Professions_Advisors/Why_your_students_should_choose_dentistry.aspx
ADEA Official Guide to Dental Schools: https://adea.org/OfficialGuide/
ADEA – Shadowing: https://www.adea.org/GoDental/Application_Prep/Preparing_for_Dental_School/Shadowing.aspx
ADEA – Application Timeline:
https://www.adea.org/GoDental/Application_Prep/The_Admissions_Process/Timeline_to_apply.aspx
“Words from your peers” – A Tip on Selecting Dental Schools: https://www.adea.org/GoDental/Dental_Blogs/Words_From_Your_Peers/Strategy_for_Success__Using_a_Grid_When_Selecting_Dental_Schools.aspx

ADEA Application Guide:
https://www.adea.org/GoDental/The_application_to_dental_school__ADEA_AADSAS.aspx
ADEA Data on Applicants, Enrollees, and Graduates: https://www.adea.org/data/students/
ADEA Advisors: https://www.adea.org/GoDental/Health_Professions_Advisors.aspx
Purchase official guide: https://adea.org/Publications/Official-Guide/

AADSAS:
ADEA AADSAS Applicant Help Center: https://help.liaisonedu.com/ADEA_AADSAS_Applicant_Help_Center

ADEA AADSAS Fee Assistance Program: https://help.liaisonedu.com/ADEA_AADSAS_Applicant_Help_Center/Starting_Your_ADEA_AADSAS_Application/Getting_Started_with_Your_ADEA_AADSAS_Application/03_Application_Fees_and_Fee_Assistance_Program

ADDSAS Fee Assistance Program Instructions and Quick Look:
https://help.liaisonedu.com/@api/deki/files/252961/ADEA_AADSAS_2023-
24_FAP_Instructions_and_Quick_Look_Final_v4.pdf?revision=4

DAT Information:

DAT 2023 Candidate Guide: https://www.ada.org/-/media/project/ada-organization/ada/ada-org/files/education/dat_examinee_guide.pdf

DAT: Updated Biology Test Specifications as of March 2022: https://www.ada.org/-/media/project/ada-organization/ada/ada-org/files/education/updated_dat_biology_testspecifications.pdf

ADA – Dental Admission Test:
https://www.ada.org/education/testing/exams/dental-admission-test-dat

DAT Fee Waiver Application: https://www.ada.org/-/media/project/ada-organization/ada/ada-org/files/education/dat_fee_waiver.doc

Dental Specialties: https://ncrdscb.ada.org/en/recognized-dental-specialties