Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Dean’s Advisory Board


The Dean’s Advisory Board (DAB) is a group of committed alumni and friends who promote excellence in the college. Members serve as advocates and advisors in support of the college’s students, faculty, staff, and administration and work at all times in a collaborative fashion with its leadership.

The DAB achieves its mission by:

  1. Providing advice and counsel to the dean and his or her staff
  2. Remaining informed of the college’s trends, programs, and needs, both academic and administrative
  3. Advocating for and contributing to funding of the college in support of its critical role as the academic core of the university
  4. Engaging with other key stakeholders to show support for the college’s strategic plan and vision
  5. Supporting the college’s mission

Members of the DAB are expected to engage in several activities critical to the success of the missions of both the DAB and the college. These activities include attending biannual board meetings, financially supporting the college, and providing strategic introductions for the dean and college administrators that help the college grow.

Dean’s Advisory Board Members

  • Mr. Jeff Belser, Nashville, TN
  • Mr. John Bumpus, Brentwood, TN
  • Dr. Bill Burkhart, Knoxville, TN
  • Mrs. Kathryn Cole, Memphis, TN
  • Mr. Chad Goldman, Los Angeles, CA
  • Ms. Sara Hall, Memphis, TN
  • Dr. William H. Harvey, Richmond, IN
  • Mrs. Judith Anderson Herbert, Lansing, MI
  • Mr. Robert Horning, Los Angeles, CA
  • Ms. Scarlett May, Dallas, TX

  • Mr. J. Todd Metcalf, Washington, DC
  • Mr. Peter Newman, New York, NY
  • Mrs. Elizabeth Roth, Nashville, TN
  • Dr. Wanda Rushing, Wilmington, NC
  • Mr. Stephen J. Smith, Madison, TN
  • Mrs. Elizabeth Stowers, Knoxville, TN
  • Dr. Carolyn C. Thompson, Nashville, TN
  • Mr. John T. Whaley, Atlanta, GA
  • Mr. Greg Williams, Ft. Worth, TX
  • Dr. Wayne Wolfson, Winter Park, FL

Dean’s Advisory Board Associates

  • Mrs. Barbara U. Arant, Knoxville,TN
  • Mr. Roger Bohanan, Lenoir City, TN
  • Mrs. Charlotte R. Burnette, Bristol, TN
  • John A. Chandler, Atlanta, GA
  • Mr. Jeff Chapman, Atlanta, GA
  • Dr. W. Michael Dennis, Winter Park, FL
  • Mr. Gordon G. Fee, Oak Ridge, TN
  • Ms. Lisa M. Ford, Atlanta, GA
  • Mr. Ben Greer, Jr., Atlanta, GA
  • Dr. Joseph M. Haskins, Lookout Mountain, GA
  • Dr. John L. Hawley, Jr.,  Sterling, VA
  • Mr. Andrew Hoover, Pulaski, TN
  • Mr. Steve Horne, Lafayette, IN
  • Mrs. Kay B. Housch, Hermitage, TN
  • Dr. Joseph E. Johnson, Knoxville, TN
  • Mr. Kenneth U. Jordan, South Pittsburg, TN
  • Mr. Ed Lay, Jr., New York, NY
  • Mr. Peyton Manning, Englewood, CO

  • Mr. Phil Mattingly, Brentwood, TN
  • Dr. Mark A. Moore, Savannah, GA
  • Lt. Robert J. Nicholson, III,  Knoxville, TN
  • Mr. Barrington Owens, Carmel, IN
  • Dr. W. Charles Penley, Nashville, TN
  • Mr. Bert Ritchie, Knoxville, TN
  • Dr. Diane Grob Schmidt, Cincinatti, OH
  • Dr. Molly Seal, Signal Mountain, TN
  • Dr. Charles S. Shoup, Carmel, IN
  • Dr. Wilbur D. Shults, Oak Ridge, TN
  • Ms. Kelle Shultz, Knoxville, TN
  • Dr. Judith Slagle, Johnson City, TN
  • Mrs. Jennifer Stanley, Chattanooga, TN
  • Mr. William Lloyd Stanley, Jr., Chattanooga, TN
  • Mr. Richard Tasman, Loudon, TN
  • Chief Judge Thomas A. Varlan, Knoxville, TN
  • Mr. Al Leonard Williams, Jr., Knoxville, TN