Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

James R. & Nell W. Cunningham Outstanding Teaching Award

At its annual Faculty Awards Dinner, the college recognizes faculty excellence in teaching by presenting the James R. and Nell W. Cunningham Outstanding Teaching Award, which is given to a tenured faculty member who demonstrates outstanding classroom teaching.

Each department and school may nominate one full-time tenured faculty member for this award. Individuals who have received this award within the last five years may not be renominated for the award. Departments and schools are encouraged to involve faculty members and students, as appropriate, in the nomination process.

A nomination consists of:

  1. A completed nomination form. Please note that for security reasons, you must be logged in to your UT / Google Account in order to make submissions.
  2. A nomination letter from the department head or school director, no longer than three pages, that gives specific examples of the nominee’s excellence in classroom teaching. This letter may include a summary of SAIS scores, student comments or testimonials, excerpts from peer evaluations of teaching, and similar quality indicators.
  3. A statement describing how faculty and students were involved in the nomination process.
  4. A statement of the nominee’s teaching philosophy, no longer than three pages.
  5. The nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Please contact Liem Tran with any questions. Nominations should be submitted no later than December 15 at 5:00 p.m.


Year Recipient Department
2021-2022 Marie Jameson
Tore Olsson
2020-2021 Maria Stehle
Gregory Stuart
2019-2020 Edward E. Schilling
Urmila Seshagiri
2018-2019 Beth Schussler EEB
2017-2018 Erin E. Hardin Psychology
2016-2017 Millie Gimmel
Michael Olson
Modern Foreign Languages & Literatures
2015-2016 Marianne Breinig Physics and Astronomy
2014–2015 Mary McAlpin Modern Foreign Languages & Literatures
2012–2013 Mary Papke
Randall Small
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
2011–2012 John Nolt Philolospy
2010–2011 Marilyn Kallet English
2008–2009 Michael L. Keene
Carl G. Wagner
2007–2008 John Koontz Biochemistry & Cellular and Molecular Biology
2006–2007 Marianne Custer
Cathy Leach
2005–2006 Lorri Glover History
2004–2005 Jon Levin Physics & Astronomy
2003–2004 Michael Logan Anthropology
2002–2003 Allen Carroll English
2001–2002 Allen Dunn English
2000–2001 Palmira Brummett History
1999–2000 Salvatore Di Maria Modern Foreign Languages & Literatures
1998–1999 Chris Craig Classics