Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

College Marshall Award

The College Marshall Award is the college equivalent of the university macebearer and is, therefore, the highest college honor awarded to a member of the faculty.

The recipient of this award is selected annually by the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and honors a senior faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding service to the college and the university. The College Marshall is announced at the annual Faculty Awards Dinner held at the end of fall semester. The College Marshall represents the college at  the spring and fall commencement ceremonies in the following calendar year.

For questions regarding this award, please contact


Academic Year Recipient Department
2022 Deborah Welsh Psychology
2021 Louis Gross Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
2020 Calvin MacLean Theatre
2019 Christopher Craig Classics
2018 Bill Black Theatre
2017 Chuck Maland English
2016 Larry Taylor Earth and Planetary Sciences
2015 John Scheb Political Science
2014 Carol Harden Geography
2013 Marvelene C. Moore Music
2012 Harry (Hap) McSween Earth & Planetary Sciences
2011 Soren Sorensen Physics & Astronomy
2010 Susan Riechert Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
2009 Bruce Raiston Geography
2008 Jeff Becker Microbiology
2007 Thomas Hallam Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
2006 Leonard Handler Psychology
2005 Thomas Calcott Physics & Astronomy
2004 Howard Pollio Psychology
2003 William Bruce Wheeler History
2002 Allen Carroll English
2001 Dorothy M. Scura English