Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Divisional Structure Pilot Update

A little more than a month ago, the Chancellor and Provost announced my appointment as interim executive dean for the College of Arts and Sciences. My task? To collaborate with faculty and staff in the college to develop a pilot divisional structure designed to meet your various needs.

I am excited to be returning home to the college to work with all of you to design and implement the divisional structure. We are making some great progress!

Three task forces have been appointed and charged with collecting faculty and staff input about the divisional structure pilot. Members of the task forces represent each department in the college and are listed below. Their first objective is to develop a robust, inclusive, and transparent process for collecting input from you about opportunities and challenges associated with the pilot. Do you have input now? Take this three-question survey today.

Task force members will develop other opportunities for engagement with faculty and staff in the college. These opportunities may include town halls, department-level meetings, more specific surveys, and other events that will be posted to the college website and shared via email.

Finally, I am hosting open office hours for the remainder of the fall semester to meet college stakeholders. The dates are published on the college website and will be included in the weekly upcoming events email sent by the college each Friday. Next week, my office hours are as follows:

  • Monday, Nov. 21: 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 22: 1 p.m. to 2 p.m.

Both sessions will be in the Mary Greer Room of the UT Hodges Library. I hope you take the opportunity to meet me and share your thoughts about the pilot.

Thank you for all you do for our college and our university. We have a bright future, and I am proud to be a part of it.


RJ Hinde
Interim Executive Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Professor, Department of Chemistry

Divisional Structure Pilot Task Force Members

Arts & Humanities

  • Justin Arft, Classics
  • Joshua Bienko, Art
  • Erin Darby, Religious Studies
  • Luke Harlow, History
  • Samantha Murphy, English
  • David Palmer, Philosophy
  • Drew Paul, Modern Foreign Languages and Literatures
  • Joe Payne, Theatre

Natural Sciences & Mathematics

  • Nina Fefferman, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Liz Fozo, Microbiology
  • Anne Ho, Mathematics
  • Kate Jones, Physics and Astronomy
  • Brian Long, Chemistry
  • Colin Sumrall, Earth and Planetary Sciences
  • Albrecht Von Arnim, Biochemistry and Cellular and Molecular Biology

Social Sciences

  • Derrick Brooms, Africana Studies
  • Harry Dahms, Sociology
  • Joanne Devlin, Anthropology
  • Erin Hardin, Psychology
  • Will Jennings, Political Science
  • Liem Tran, Geography