Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
UT Alumni Awards

Top Alumni Honored at Awards Gala

UT Knoxville celebrated its Alumni Awards Gala with recognition of 25 Volunteers, from architects to astronauts, who have embraced the Torchbearer spirit.

Of the 25 honored, six are graduates of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Judi Herbert (’63) and Scott Kelly (’96) received the Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Award, which is given to those who have attained extraordinary national or international distinction.

Herbert is an active philanthropist who has supported various programs at UT, including the Judith Anderson Herbert Writing Center, which we will dedicate in her honor Friday, October 11. 

“We felt so prepared by our parents and by what we got from this university,” Herbert said. “No matter where we are or what we’re doing, when we get back to Knoxville, we’re home.”

Kelly is a retired American astronaut and holds the US record for the longest consecutive time spent in space. He has published three books, received numerous awards and decorations, and serves as the United Nations Champion for Space.

Holly Sears Sullivan (’94, ’98), head of worldwide economic development at Amazon, and Delores Ziegler (’79), professor at the University of Maryland and one of the world’s most celebrated mezzo-soprano, received Alumni Professional Achievement Awards.

Chad Goldman (’93), lifelong philanthropist and founder of CauseForce, received the Alumni Service Award. Shuwanza Goff (’06), majority floor director in the US House of Representatives, and Syreeta Vaughn (’05,’13), nuclear safety specialist at the Y-12 National Security Complex in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, both received the Alumni Promise Award.

Read more about our extraordinary alumni and other Volunteers recognized for their outstanding achievements.

We will celebrate additional College of Arts and Sciences alumni achievements at our annual alumni award dinner Friday, October 11.