Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue
Back row, left to right: Brian Gligor (accepted on behalf of Conrad Ricamora), Wesley W. Diehl, Carol Mayo Jenkins (accepted on behalf of Paula Pell). Front row, left to right: Carroll Van West, Betty Beaumont, Susan Dakak, Diane Grob Schmidt, Sandra White, Dean Theresa M. Lee.

College Hosts Annual Alumni and Philanthropy Awards

Dean Lee presided over the Third Annual College of Arts and Sciences Alumni and Philanthropy Awards Celebration Friday, September 22, 2017. During the ceremony, she recognized distinguished alumni and celebrated the depth and breadth of the College of Arts and Science.

The annual event, coordinated by college development staff, honors the professional achievements of arts and sciences alumni. During the event, we also recognize philanthropists and volunteers who give their time and money to support the college. Finally, Dean Lee awards the Dean’s Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Award for extraordinary distinction through a lifetime record of achievement and service.

Congratulations to the following 2017 College of Arts and Sciences Alumni and Philanthropy award recipients!

Alumni Divisional Achievement

This award recognizes alumni who have achieved significant levels of accomplishment in the early to middle stages of their careers and publicly acknowledges “rising stars” who have exhibited exceptional talent and promise. 

Achievement in Humanities

Katherine Sharp Landdeck (’02) earned a PhD in history and has been recognized globally for her expertise on the Women Air Force Service Pilots of World War II, including work with the media and in documentary films. Learn More.

Achievement in Performing Arts

Conrad Ricamora (’12) received his MFA in theatre and has distinguished himself as an artistic talent, playing major roles on and off Broadway and on television, including ABC’s hugely successful legal series, How To Get Away With Murder. Learn More.

Alumni Professional Achievement

This award recognizes alumni who have achieved a high degree of success in their field and have a record of notable career accomplishments and history of outstanding contributions to their profession.

Wesley W. Diehl (’82) graduated with a degree in geology and is now highly respected at ExxonMobil. He worked his way up through the highly competitive organization and now advises development of some of the company’s largest international oil and gas players. Learn More.

Alumni Scholarly and Creative Achievement

This award recognizes alumni who have achieved a high degree of success in their chosen field in either a scholarly or a creative endeavor.

Alumni Scholarly Achievement

Carroll Van West (’78) received his BA from Middle Tennessee State University, MA in history from UT, and PhD from the College of William and Mary. Carroll currently serves as Tennessee’s State Historian. Learn More.

Alumni Creative Achievement

Paula Pell (’86) is an outstanding and noteworthy alumna of the Department of Theatre. In 1995, she started writing for Saturday Night Live and was nominated for an Emmy as writer of the “Saturday Night Live at 40” special. Learn More.

 College Philanthropist

This award recognizes the exceptional generosity and impact of a philanthropist whose support has made a significant difference to the College of Arts and Sciences over an extended period.

Sandra White is the widow of David C. White, former professor of microbiology. In 2015, Sandy established the David C. White Memorial Travel Award Endowment at UT. The fund helps our students further their educations and careers as microbiologists. Learn More.

Volunteer Service

This award recognizes exceptional service or long-term, continuing service of leadership by alumni or friends to the college or a department or program within the college over an extended period.

Bettye Beaumont (’74) graduated with a BA in Latin from the Department of Classics and has served in various roles at Proctor and Gamble for 24 years. Since retiring, Bettye has devoted herself to volunteering for a variety of organizations both at UT and in the Cincinnati area. Learn More.

The Arab American Club of Knoxville (AACK) and its individual board member have worked with UT for years. The club has supported and enhanced the UT Medical Center, the McClung Museum, the Baker Center, the School of Music, the Departments of Religious Studies, History, Political Science, Modern Foreign Languages and Literatures, and the newly formed program in Middle East Studies. Learn More.

Dean’s Distinguished Alumnus

The purpose of this award is to recognize an outstanding alumnus/alumna of the College of Arts and Sciences who has attained extraordinary distinction through a lifetime record of achievement and service.

Diane Grob Schmidt (’69) received an MS in organic chemistry from UT. She completed her PhD in chemistry at the University of Cincinnati and joined Procter and Gamble Co., where she progressed through the ranks and became the Research and Development Section Head with global responsibilities from 1997 to 2014. Throughout her career, she paved the way for women chemists in industry. In 2016, the NAI Fellows Selection Committee chose her for induction as a Fellow into the National Academy of Inventors. Learn More.