Skip to content

Volunteer Service Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize exceptional service or long-term leadership to the College of Arts and Sciences or to an academic department or program within the College. It is designed to publicly acknowledge those individuals—alumni or friends—who have given significant amounts of time and talent over an extended period of time.



John Turley (’74) completed a bachelor’s degree in history and went on to build a successful career as a real estate developer. He has served on the board of the McClung Museum of Natural History for several years. He currently serves as Chair of the Advisory Committee for UT’s Department of History.


W. Michael Dennis (’76), who received a doctorate in botany, has been a very active member of the Dean’s Advisory Board as well as a volunteer in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and Botany for nearly forty years. He has personally led forty consecutive annual Wildflower Pilgrimages.

Wade Guyton (’95), Meredyth Sparks (’94) and Joshua Smith (’98).  This team of internationally recognized artists created the Artist-in-Residence Limited Box Series of prints, a fundraising project to endow the artist-in-residence position in painting and drawing in the School of Art. Wade Guyton earned a bachelor’s degree in with a major in the College Scholars Program. Meredyth Sparks and Joshua Smith completed bachelor’s degrees in art.


The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.